Pounded Yam

If you ask me what I am to you,

I would say that I am your pounded yam.

I could be so hard and tough

But I was so soft and malleable for you.

You were my hot water,

and I molded myself to you,

softly, sweetly, absolutely tenderly.

I’m not ashamed to admit that I’m lost in your sauce

and that I let you dig your fingers into me

and pluck the parts of me you wanted to devour

whilst still remaining whole and full for you.

Our hearts had some holes to fill

and damn did we fill them,

over and over and over again.

I could tell by the look in your eyes and the feel of your soul

that I sat deep in your belly;

that I had you sated, satiated, satisfied;

that you loved my white and the way it had you feeling dignified.

Like you were royalty and I was your queen,

like I was essential to your very being.

We never wanted anything in between.

You see, I’m used to not really being seen.

I’ve spent years being underground, underrated, understated.

My discovery has unfortunately been very belated,

but I’m here now, bright and shiny.

You helped me realise what I could be.

And I hope you never get tired of eating me.

Leave a comment